

Saskatchewan Rugby 300 - 1734 Elphinstone Street Regina, Saskatchewan Phone: (306) 780-9353

Minutes SEMI ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 510 Cynthia Street, Saskatoon

Eldon Hall, Nathan Thomson, Jess Buydens, Ian Senterre, Joe Buttigieg, Alyx Paulson, Jerry Vargas, Levi Moore, Janet Marcoux, Christie Westbrook, Samara Howden, Sam Basset, Mason Switzer, Mike Schdowski, Jaime Lammerding, Leon Bourner, Joe Mudasia, David Hughes, Derek Berezowski.

- 1. Land Acknowledgement
- 2. Call to Order 11:08am
- 3. Establishment of Quorum (Roll Call and Confirming Majority) 10 votes with majority being 6
- 4. Approval of Agenda LEON, NATHAN approved
- Approval of Member Meeting Minutes NATHAN, MASON approved
 1 2023 Annual General Meeting April 2, 2023
- 6. 2024 Registration & Membership Fees -
 - 6.1 2024 Membership Fees
 - Sask Rugby Fees
 - Rugby Canada Fees

The Sask Rugby fees presented do not have an increase in 2024 but we will need to have a further review and discussion as their hasn't been a dues increase for several years. There is an increase in the Rugby Canada fees of about 10%, which was approved by the Provincial Unions at the Rugby Canada AGM in May. Eldon lead a discussion regarding the increase of the Rugby Canada dues and gave some back group and information about how the decision reached a consensus amoung the provincial unions. The first being that there would be a freeze on increasing fees until





Saskatchewan Rugby 300 - 1734 Elphinstone Street Regina, Saskatchewan Phone: (306) 780-9353

end of the BC 2025 which takes us into 2026 and the second was around establishing a President's Council that for all decisions that majorly impact community rugby and how they will have input on how the money that is moving towards rugby Canada is being spent and decisions that are going to effect us at the community level.

Two additional member organizations arrived at this point of the meeting: David Hughes of Regina Minor Rugby and Derek Berezowski of the Grads. Adding the Grads would make the eligible votes to 11 keeping the majority to 6 votes.

MOTION: To accept the 2024 Membership Fees LEON, LEVI - approved

7. Governance Review Updates

Jordan provided some updates to summarize the last steps of the Board. The last report was shared from the August board workshop. The first area that were examined was around board structure, the size, the terms, the officer positions and the timings of the elections. The second piece included board and operational committees and the last piece was around roles and responsibilities between the sub unions and the member organizations. The three bylaw amendments brought forward were a result of that work. The next steps moving forward are around finalizing what the future committee structure will look like and forming an ad hoc committee to help continue to flesh out some of those committee concepts as well as the voting structure. A committee have been formed and Eldon is chairing it. The establishment of a nominations committee as we are looking to move the board into a direction of being skills based to recruit talent based on a skills matrix and competency needs.





Saskatchewan Rugby 300 - 1734 Elphinstone Street Regina, Saskatchewan Phone: (306) 780-9353

8. Amendments to Bylaws

MOTION: To amend 8.1 as presented NATHAN, LEON - APPROVED

MOTION: To amend 8.2 as presented MASON, SAM - APPROVED

MOTION: To amend 8.4 as amended JESS, SAM - APPROVED

The amendment reads:

8.4 The Officers will be composed of the President, Vice President, and Treasurer. The Officers will be elected by the membership at the Semi Annual General Meeting immediately following the election. They shall take office immediately. The term of the office for Officers shall be two years.

Any additional changes to the bylaws related to these changes will be part of the ongoing governance work of the ad hoc committee and will need to be approved by the Board and brought forward to the membership at the Annual General Meeting.

9. Amendment to the Articles

MOTION: to amend the Articles of Incorporation to match the change in 8.1 JESS/NATHAN – APPROVED

10. Election of Board

MOTION: To thank Tyler Lloyd, Larry Mueller, Alyx Paulson, Jason Brandt, Jason Koochicum, Drew Kendel for their service on the Board of Directors.

NATHAN/LEON - APPROVED





Saskatchewan Rugby 300 - 1734 Elphinstone Street Regina, Saskatchewan

Phone: (306) 780-9353

Previous incumbents Jason Brandt, Alyx Paulson, Jason Koochicum will let their name stand for re-election. Larry Mueller lets his name stand for election.

MOTION: To close all nominations from the floor MASON/LEON – APPROVED.

It was identified from the floor that there would still be a turn over of half of the board each election cycle and that a transition plan will be required to achieve the desired three positions up for election for the new three year terms. The five people elected today for the five available positions will all be three year terms.

Alyx Paulson, Nathan Thomson, Jason Brandt, Larry Mueller, Jason Koochicum are elect by ACCLAMATION.

11. Election of Officers

With there being a number of board members in the room and a number of other missing it presented challenges over who would let their name stand for Election. It was suggested that we defer the election of the Vice President position to give Jordan time to canvas the whole Board of Directors to see if any of them would want to let their name stand for the position.

MOTION: To elect Nathan Thomson as the Treasurer and to defer the election of Vice President and confirm the election after confirmation if people are willing to run. JESS/IAN

Eldon made a call for nominations from the floor for the Vice President Position.





Saskatchewan Rugby

300 - 1734 Elphinstone Street Regina, Saskatchewan

Phone: (306) 780-9353

Jason Brandt was nominated by MASON and seconded by SAM. Jason confirmed he would let his name stand.

To allow an opportunity for the other Board members not present to expresss interest in serving in the Vice President role, it was decided to suspend the election, confirm any nominations from other Board members and to conduct the election via electronic means.

MOTION: To conduct the Vice President election via electronic means within 1 week DEREK/JESS - APPROVED

Alyx Paulson and Jason Brandt put their names forward to serve in the role of Vice President.

UPDATE: Election ran from Dec 5 to Dec 10 via Election Buddy and Jason Brandt was elected as Vice President by a majority vote.

12. Adjournment - LEON

